Cutting the Cord

Almost a month back, I made the huge leap: I deleted my Facebook account. To non-Facebook people, this may not seem like a big deal, but for people who know how Facebook can grab hold of you, they’ll understand. There is a lot of negativity surrounding the use of Facebook, yet there is still a massive group using it.

My personal reasons for leaving go deeper than the ever-changing privacy issues. I felt like for my mental sanity and self-worth, it would be better to walk away. I feel that Facebook dehumanizes people in a certain sense. It’s too easy for people to cut someone else down while they hide behind their devices. Somehow, there seem to be more “trolls” making rude comments because everyone feels braver when they aren’t face-to-face with the person they’re abusing. It breeds cowards.

Facebook started out as another form of communication between college kids. Then it expanded to high school age and now of course everyone and their grandma are on it. (Literally. My grandma has her own page.) Even companies now use it.

It has become a marketing scheme and everyone is selling themselves. People only show the best parts of their lives and pretend that the less glistening parts don’t exist. At least for some people. There are also the Eeyores in the bunch who use it to whine about their lives and to gain pity from their (now annoyed) friends. But to me, it is the same thing. It is a way for people to jump up and down and scream, “Look at me! Look at me!”

But in an odd way, at least in my personal experience, it has the opposite effect. I found myself reflecting on my own life and doubting that I have it all together. Doubting that I can make it in this world. Feeling unworthy. Disillusioned. Depressed.

I’m not where I want to be in life. There are so many things I want to change. But because I am struggling, I believe that there is something great waiting for me. These struggles will make it easier to appreciate what lies in my future, be it a career or otherwise. Anything that comes easy or free is cheapened. So if I must fight for a better future, the fight will be worth it.

Outside the cloud of negativity that surrounded my Facebook experience, I am feeling like I’m standing on less rocky ground. No one’s shouting in my ears or spitting in my face. I am moving forward on this journey. In hindsight, almost everything you’ve been through doesn’t seem as bad as it felt when you were going through it. I can’t wait for the day when I can reach the peak of that mountain and look back to enjoy the view and to appreciate how far I’ve come. Already, there is rough terrain behind me, so I’m going to keep my eyes ahead, but not so far in the future that I miss the obstacles on the path at my feet.

Leave a Reply

