Balancing my Health

I’m not one to slow down for long. In fact, I thrive in movement. I am happiest when busy and active. So when I get sick, it’s really hard to make myself stay in one place so I can get better. Yesterday, I probably went through a whole tissue box because of this head cold that I’ve caught. It’s probably the first time I’ve been sick in two years, but it came with a vengeance. I was fine one day and then next day, barely getting by. I shouldn’t have gone to work. And I’m sure my co-workers wished I hadn’t gone to work. So today, I called in sick for the first time at my current job.

I don’t know why, but I felt guilty about doing it. I think it’s that whole rat race mentality I mentioned in a previous post. We are told to tough it out and go in to work even when we’re sick. But that doesn’t help you get over the sickness and it certainly doesn’t help the office morale. But if the stubbornness or pride wins, everyone else loses out. So, against my prideful nature, I sucked it up and called it a day. Then I slept most of the morning away (I must have needed it) and have been doctoring myself ever since I crawled out of bed.

Truth be told, it’s been an enlightening experience. I’ve been gulping green tea and running my essential oil diffuser as well as taking essential oils to help my body get over this. And it’s working. Who would have guessed that slowing down and letting your body heal would actually work?

I think there is balance to life in everything we do. You have to make sure you don’t fall too far one way or the other. It wouldn’t be good for me to be lazy and sit on the couch all day, but equally, it isn’t good for me to run myself into the ground either. I am constantly battling this concept of balance and not just on sick days. There really is a time for everything under the sky. The Byrds said it right in their song, “Turn! Turn! Turn!” (based on Ecclesiastes 3). Sometimes it’s good to rest and sometimes it’s good to get up and move. Today is my day to rest.

 

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.”  Ecclesiastes 3:1 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

