Little White Lies

Integrity, as defined by dictionary.com is “adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.” There are other definitions as well, but this is the one I’m thinking about today.

Most people consider themselves people of integrity. But it’s easy to be blind to our mistakes. It is the little things that add up and consist of our character. If you are a person who likes to tell white lies (for someone else’s good, of course), you lack integrity. It sounds harsh, but I believe we have to be extra careful of the little stuff like this.

When I think of integrity, I think of someone who is honest in doing business with you. And that means someone who you trust with your money and perhaps even your future. I doubt you would condemn your banker for a white lie, but what if it really should be that serious?

I have an acquaintance that lacks this kind of integrity. She is not a bad person, and I like her, but I feel that she is untrustworthy. When she wants something to go her way, she immediately resorts to lies. I have heard her say “I’ll just lie to them and say…” so many times. She outright lies and she has no remorse for it. Apparently she has done it so many times that it no longer seems like it is wrong at all.

I’m not trying to dog on her. That is why she shall remain nameless. But this is exactly the lack of integrity that really bothers me. If I constantly lie about the little ‘insignificant’ stuff, don’t you think that will spill over into the big stuff that truly matters? Not to preach, but look at Luke 16:10 “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.”

I’m not blameless myself. I don’t post this to condemn everyone else except myself. I try to hold myself to that standard, but it is so easy to fall into a white lie and then believe that it didn’t hurt anything. White lies are the pebbles that can crumble a mountain if we are not careful.

 Just a little food for thought. It’s never too late to turn around and face the world with bold honesty.

Leave a Reply

