Second Chance in 2014

Tonight’s the big night. The next few weeks will be full of New Year’s resolutions and hope. A fresh start for us all. It always seems to come and go much faster than I anticipate. This past year hasn’t been bad, but as always, I’m looking forward to the unknown year that lies ahead.

For me, there stands a promise of things improving, because they seem to improve as I get older. I feel like I am finally learning to balance. I am a very different person than I was just a few short years ago. I think some of my bad traits have lessened, and hopefully the good have magnified. I still have the same struggles as always, but I’m beginning to understand. I see now that the demons are always bigger inside your head and much smaller in hindsight. I guess I’m a *little* more dramatic than I’ve always thought I am.

One thing I love about this time of year is that after the holiday feast, you come to New Year’s Day ready to start anew. It’s our second chance to be better. Since it’s marked on the calendar, it is there for us every year. New Year’s Day reminds us that we can still pick ourselves up off the dusty ground and try again.

I don’t think that success is as important as the fact that you tried. And if your efforts were not as good as you can make them, you get to try again next year. Even if it takes you five years to finally stick to the gym, at least you tried. And after all that time, you can still succeed. It’s better to set some plausible goals rather than sitting on the couch and refusing to use this time of year to hope. Because if you keep trying, really putting the effort in, I believe someday you’ll succeed. Sometimes improvement comes in small steps. Sometimes the goal is too big to start with, but if you allow yourself small improvements, you’re on your way.

 

Happy New Year to all! I hope 2014 brings you joy, peace, and lots of hope.

Leave a Reply

