Puppy Paranoia

I’ve already said that we were getting a puppy. And a week and a half ago, we did. Oh boy, did we. And he is 9 weeks of pure puppy mischief! Harper’s energy is boundless and already, he has a few tricks to pull. He’s even tried faking us out on his potty break. And he chews on everything. Even rocks (one of his favorites).

Having him in the house is stressful because the moment I look away, he’s chewing on the furniture or peeing on the carpet. In a way, he’s like a toddler, only less responsibility.

It’s been an eye-opening experience. I already shiver with fear about birthing kids into this world. Pregnancy alone can do such strange things to a woman’s body. And that’s before the kid comes out! Those first few nights when puppy kept us up or woke us up at odd hours were enough to convince me: I’m not ready, nor do I think I will ever be ready, to have kids.

But isn’t that how it is with everyone? No one’s ready for kids, but when the kid comes, you can’t imagine life without him or her (or so I hear from the parents out there). I haven’t reached that point yet, but this is also a dog, not a human. And thank God I can put him in his kennel to have a break from him. With kids, not so easy.

It seriously scares me that I don’t have what it takes to raise a child. I mean, I really love getting enough sleep. Trust me, I’m not a pleasant person to be around when I’m sleepy (or hungry for that matter).

I have newfound respect for all the parents out there, especially the single parents. I know I couldn’t do it alone. Just handling a puppy for a few hours is enough for me. But I think Harper will be good for my husband and me. It will get us out of the house and toughen us up.

The training part is hard, especially when he’s little. So for now, we’ll work on small pieces of training while playing with him. He’s a smart little guy and he’s learning fast. If only he would learn “down” when he gets so excited that he jumps on us. I just hope we can squash the bad habits before they become bad mannerisms.

We will do what we have to do to train a pup the right way. It will take some time and commitment to training. We have to learn how to communicate with him just as he needs to learn how to communicate with us. The real question is: Who is training who?

Our new puppy

Our new puppy, Harper

Leave a Reply

