Nice Guys Finish Last….ish?

We’ve all heard that saying: Nice guys finish last. And it seems to be true more often than not. The people shoving to the front of the line end up going first and the whiners tend to get their way (if only to shut them up).

When you’re the nice guy, it can really suck the life out of you to be repaid with rudeness or an instant reprimand when you are trying to be kind or to do the right thing.

I used to be a waitress. I’m not going to lie: I was awful. That is not my calling (Thank goodness!). At one restaurant I worked at, there would be a certain family that would come in. They sucked down Dr. Pepper like they’d come from the desert and they expected refills without delay. I’m not kidding, I had to come with a refill within 2 minutes of them sitting down.

The worst part was that it didn’t matter how perfect my service, food, and timing was, they always found something to complain about. And often, our manager would cater to them and give them free meals. This perpetuated the problem. They consistently came in to complain and get a free meal. And because they were so vocal, they got what they wanted every single time. I could have gotten over this, but another consistency was the tip. It was always meager if they tipped you at all. And I was making $2.13 per hour.

So I think the real line should be: Nice guys never get instant gratification. Okay, so that’s not as catchy, but that’s where I’m going with all this. The whiny, aggressive, confrontational people do often get what they want (and very quickly in many cases). But I like to think the nice guys will someday get their due. And I hope it’s ten-fold better than whatever instant reward the rude people get for making a scene out at a restaurant.

Leave a Reply

