A Spicy Life

Everyone says variety is the spice of life. If you’re too focused on just one thing, you can miss out on all the rest.

August has been a rough month for me because I’ve been working overtime. When I finally clocked out each day, I was too exhausted to do anything, including the things I love. It’s been one long blur of working, eating, and sleeping. But mostly working.

I used to be on the path to becoming a workaholic. But after being beaten down, overworked, and under-appreciated at one of my previous jobs, I began to see things more clearly. That company didn’t care about my well-being. They didn’t care if I was hurt, sick, or just worn-out. They wanted me there doing my job at any cost. That was the problem.

So I made a decision that I wouldn’t sacrifice my well-being so freely. Don’t get me wrong, work can be stressful and exhausting, but when it is chronically so, there’s a problem. And I will work hard and get my job done as quickly and efficiently as I can, but not at the expense of my health and sanity long-term. That’s too much of one thing.

This applies to all sorts of areas. Too much free time can lead to boredom and sometimes trouble if someone doesn’t have an outlet for their energy. Too much laziness can lead to health problems or obesity. Even too much sun gives you a sunburn. It goes on. Too much of one thing always tips the scale and something else has to be sacrificed. A good balance of many things levels it out and gives it variety.

In perfect timing, Labor Day weekend is upon us. And I couldn’t be more grateful. I’m looking forward to rest and relaxation after a long month of hard work. So if you feel a little worn out, take some time for yourself. It’s not selfish, it’s adding some spice to your life. And it’ll make things that much sweeter.

Photo credit: p3nnylan3 / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Photo credit: p3nnylan3 / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Leave a Reply

